Morning Sun & Rose Tea

As I sit here at my little vanity (the chair is still broken), eating Honey Nut Cheerios that don’t really taste like my breakfasts at home, as the sun streams in the windows to my left and as I take a break from preparing for the day, my soul is stirring in truth and conviction from Psalm 9. Hear this:

Have mercy and lift me up from the gates of death, that I may declare your praises in the gates of Daughter Zion, and there rejoice in your salvation.

Okay, so here’s what’s happening in my soul. I’m reading this today, and I’m in Greece, and it’s beautiful and I’m still wrestling and trying to figure it all out. And I’m praying that He might make me not so homesick and all of this, and I’m drifting here and there and feeling like a crazy person and then BAM! Here it is. “Have mercy on me that I may declare your praises and there rejoice in your salvation!” Note that David, the psalmist, does not plead for mercy to overcome missing home or to not be so sad or any of that. Mercy leads not necessarily to change in circumstance, but to recognition of and rejoicing in the PRESENT REALITY OF OUR SALVATION! That’s so much better than one or two less heavy sighs while perusing my newsfeed!

So that’s where I am. Rejoicing in my salvation even though the milk after my cereal is a little off.

Leave a Reply

