AMERICA

Happy 4th of July from the beautiful beaches of Destin, Florida.  As I type these words, my mouth is savoring a cake/brownie/ice cream indulgence of a lifetime (good thing calories don’t count on vacation), my ears are rejoicing at the sweet sound of Beyonce’s words of karma…confidence..my brain is dwelling on what a day in the life of Beyonce would be like.  Let’s all take a minute and sit on that one.  A day in the life of Beyonce Knowles.  What would it be like…answer: AWESOME.  Now she’s singing “God Bless the USA”.  Be still my beating heart.  That voice!

Now that we have that taken care of, let me let you know a little bit about vacation.  First of all, it’s really nice.  Sometimes I forget to breathe, I think.  Literally and figuratively.  The literal part is that sometimes, when I’m really tired, I accidentally hold my breath.  But don’t worry!  It’s nothing serious.  Figuratively, how easy is it for us to go and go and go until our [metaphoric] legs can’t go anymore, our hearts are screaming for rest, our fingers get all tingly, and our lungs, fighting for a tiny bit of oxygen, finally burst.  Even in the summer!  It’s so simple to get caught up in making trips to see our friends, get to work on time…we even get stressed about our “down time”!  We need to stop living in check-lists.  Sure, it’s easy for me to say this now, when the only thing on my schedule is laying down with my eyes closed while my skin bakes in the Florida sun, but my hope and prayer for myself, my family, and all of you, is that we can all learn to be still and breathe every once in a while.  We were created for it!  As human beings, made in the image of a holy God, busy-ness should be a completely alien concept.

Check these out: Exodus 33:14,  Matthew 11:28-30, Hebrews 4:1-11, Psalm 46:10, Exodus 34:21

There is so much scripture pointing to rest, yet even Christians overlook it, deeming things (beneficial things and detrimental things) more important, more useful than rest.  So what are you waiting for?  Turn off your cell phone, and sit.

And while you’re at it..eat these

http://twotinykitchens.com/2011/02/23/peanut-butter-pretzel-bites/

One of my favorite people found these little guys are they are DELICIOUS, and quite simple to make.

Now, my family is waiting for me at the door, beach chairs in hand.  My brother, Matt, is dancing wildly to Katy Perry’s “Firework” (quite fitting for the situation, wouldn’t you say?) and the crackling of beautiful sky explosions are calling my name.

LET FREEDOM RING!

Leave a Reply

